Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Andrea Aliverti
Politecnico di Milano

Brief Bio
Andrea Aliverti (MSc in Electronic Engineering, 1992, PhD in Bioengineering, 1997) is Full Professor at the Department of Electronics, Information and Bioengineering (DEIB) at the Politecnico di Milano where he teaches Sensors and Instrumentation Technologies and Bioengineering of the Respiratory System. He also teaches Biomedical Electronics and Instrumentation at the MedTec Course in Medicine and Biomedical Engineering (Politecnico di Milano-Humanitas University). From 2014 to 2021, he has been the Chairman (Coordinatore) of the PhD Programme in Bioengineering at the Politecnico di Milano. He is responsible of Lares (Respiratory Analysis Lab) at the Biomedical Technology Laboratory (TBM-Lab). His actual main research interests include the bioengineering of the respiratory system, physiological measurements, biomedical instrumentation and sensors and functional lung imaging. Specific research areas of interest include respiratory mechanics (modeling of interactions between respiratory and cardiovascular system, human respiratory muscle action, exercise), biomedical instrumentation (optoelectronic and double plethysmography, noninvasive physiological measurements of ventilation, blood gases, blood pressure, human activity, stress), pulmonary functional imaging (CT, MRI, ultrasonography and in-vivo microscopy), wearable technology (development of new methods and systems for continuous monitoring of physiological variables), sport technology, artificial intelligence applied to physiological data, signal and images. He has been technical coordinator of the EU funded Projects BREATH , BREATH-PGC and CARED (Computer Assisted Rehabilitation for Respiratory Diseases), responsible of the activities of the Politecnico di Milano of the EU funded Projects PLANHAB (Planetary Habitat Simulation) and HOLOZCAN, two NIH funded Projects and several industry-funded projects. He is author or co-author of >280 papers in peer-reviewed scientific journals, 15 book chapters, editor of 4 books, inventor in 15 patents. He is member of the editorial board of the Journal of Applied Physiology (American Physiological Society), Respiratory Physiology and Neurobiology, Breathe, Sensors, Metrology. He is an active member of the IEEE, ERS (European Respiratory Society) (Secretary of the Group 4.03 - Respiratory Structure and Function (2009-2011), Chair of the Group 4.01- Clinical Physiology and Exercise (2011-2014), Secretary (2014-2017) and Head (2017-2020) of Assembly 4 - Clinical physiology, sleep and pulmonary circulation. Member of the Educational Council (2014-2017), Science Council (2017-2020) and Executive Committee (2017-2020). Member of the working group on Digital Health.), SIP/IRS (Italian Respiratory Society) (Member of the Scientific Committee since 2021). He has been awarded the ERS (European Respiratory Society) COPD Award, the Vertex Innovation Award (VIA), the Andrew P. Sage Award (IEEE Transactions on Human-Machine Systems), S2P (SwitchToProduct). Since 2020, he is honorary Fellow of the European Respiratory Society (FERS). ... More >>


Hande Alemdar, Middle East Technical University, Turkey
Arnold Baca, University of Vienna, Austria
Glenn Björklund, Mid Sweden University, Sweden
Daniel Boullosa, Universidad de León, Spain
David Cabello Manrique, Universidad de Granada, Spain
Laura Capranica, Università degli Studi di Roma "Foro Italico", Italy
Andrea Cereatti, Polytechnic University of Turin, Italy
Paul Comfort, University of Salford, United Kingdom
Jonathan D. Connor, James Cook University, Australia
Peter Dabnichki, RMIT University, Australia
Jose L. Elvira, Miguel Hernández University Elche, Spain
Timothy A. Exell, University of Portsmouth, United Kingdom
José M. Faria, Universidade da Beira Interior, Portugal
Sebastián Feu, University Extremadura, Spain
Federico Formenti, King's College London, United Kingdom
Xavi Garcia-Massó, University of Valencia, Spain
Sixto González-Víllora, Universidad Castilla La Mancha, Spain
Yaodong Gu, Ningbo University, China
Thomas W. Kernozek, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, United States
Pui Wah V. Kong, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Andrey Koptyug, Mid Sweden University, Sweden
Oleksandr Krasilshchikov, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Malaysia
Beom Chan Lee, University of Houston, United States
Anthony Leicht, James Cook University, Australia
Chris Mills, University of Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Luis Mochizuki, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Giuseppe Musumeci, University of Catania, Italy
Toh Yen Pang, RMIT University, Australia
Carlos Lago Peñas, Optics Laboratory, Spain
José D. Pereira, Escola Superior de Tecnologia de Setúbal, Portugal
Fernando Ribeiro, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Aaron Scanlan, Central Queensland University, Australia
Stefan Schwanitz, Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany
Stephen S. Seiler, University of Agder, Norway
Francesco Sgrò, Kore University of Enna, Italy
Andreia P. Sousa, Instituto Politécnico do Porto, Portugal
Veroljub Stankovic, University of Priština in Kosovska Mitrovica, Serbia
Rui Torres, North Polytechnic Institute of Health, Paredes, Portugal
German Vicente Rodriguez, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
Vladimir Villarreal, Technological University of Panama, Panama
Hans Weghorn, BW Cooperative State University Stuttgart, Germany
Naiquan Zheng, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States

(list not yet complete)